Basic recipe : No egg, No butter, No sugar Cake

by KK

Hi this is KK, Sushi Artist / Healthy Muffin Maker / Mum 🙂

Thank you for visiting my blog.

Ever since we moved to the new house, I kind of stopped making muffins for Yumi. She is a big girl now (already two!) and prefers to eat “like a big girl”, so instead of baking muffins, she eats cake slices. On a plate!

So I had to come up with a healthy cake recipe and here is my basic one. This is made to suit this :

20120927-141003.jpg  A baking dish!

It’s not even a cake tin, just something I bought as an emergency. I had to bake a egg-less birthday cake for 20 children for my friend, and since I didn’t have a cake tin that size, I just bought this. It was only about $5, I thought I’d only use it once, but since the cake was so popular, I still continue to make basic cake with this.

This year, Yumi’s Alpaca cake and Elmo cake were made using this tin and this recipe.

Ingredients : for a regular baking dish

-300g Organic Plain Flour

-20g Corn flour

-1 Tablespoon Aluminium free baking powder

(You can add 1 Tablespoon Cocoa powder to make the cake chocolate color)

-300g Organic soy milk

-100g Rice bran oil (or any other cold pressed oil, be careful when using olive oil, you  might need to add vanilla or cocoa to moderate the aroma)

-100g Organic maple syrup

Method

Step 1 : In a large bowl, mix all the dry ingredients (flour, BP)

Step 2: In a large bowl, mix all the wet ingredients (soy, oil, syrup); Add dry ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix, pour into baking dish and bake on 180C oven for 15min.

DONE!

Too easy? Yes, you only use 2 bowls and everything is done in 20min. I usually put my bowls on a digital cooking scale and weigh everything as I prepare them. It is better to line your baking dish with baking paper so the cake will come out without a hassle.

To make Alpaca cake, simply cut the cake in half, cut out the shape of Alpaca; and decorate with whipped cream.

  I always layer my cake to give it height. Egg-less cakes don’t rise that much, so I think it is better to make thin layer and put it on top of each other. I used organic apricot jam to connect the two pieces. The shape of alpaca is free hand cut… Luckily, it is a combination of rectangles so it’s not that hard. Good luck with the piping!

My tip, do in between the legs first.

Happy Cooking!

One Trackback to “Basic recipe : No egg, No butter, No sugar Cake”

Leave a Reply

