Teddy Bear Cake_No Egg, No Sugar, No Butter

by KK

Hi this is KK, Sushi Artist /Healthy Muffin Maker / Mum 🙂

Thank you for visiting my blog.

 

This is my 4th Cake this week, two for Yumi’s Birthday (Alpaca cake & Elmo Cake), one for a friend and this teddy is going to a Teddy Bear Charity Picnic organized by Hillview Playgroup Mother’s tomorrow! We do this charity picnic every year, and the proceeds go to Westmead Children’s Hospital. Something that I am happy to support being a mum myself. Hope we can bring some smiles on children’s faces.

20120922-132955.jpg I use Wilton’s teddy bear cake pan for this cake, and it is quite big. I used it twice for Yumi’s birthday last year.

This year, I decided to use my Basic No Egg, No Butter, No Sugar cake recipe, just bigger than usual.

This is not a recipe, but more like a memo to myself so I can bake it again next year without a hassle!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients (for 1 Wilton Teddy Bear Cake tin)

-440g Organic Plain Flour

-30g Corn flour

-10g Cocoa powder

-25g Aluminium Free Baking Powder

-450g Organic Soy milk

-150g Organic Maple syrup

-150 Rice bran oil (or grape seed oil, use cold pressed)

 

Method

Step 1: Mix all dry ingredients (flour, corn flour, cocoa powder, BP) in a large bowl; Mix all the wet ingredients (soy milk, syrup, oil) in a large bowl; Pour dry into wet, mix and bake at 180C for 20min.

I had to put some foil on the top for the last 5min because it started to brown. Very quick and easy, there is only 1 step to it!

 

Just remember to grease the tin well, I sprayed some oil, than tipped in extra flour to coat it. It came out nicely! Also, when you pour the mixture into the tin, use a knife and try to “cut” the center of body, arms and legs, pushing the mixture to the side of the pan as possible. This will make the mixture rise as flat as it can, if you don’t do this (which I did not last year) the center part will rise more than the other parts.

 

 

One more tip, before turning it out onto a cooling wrack, “cut/scrape off” the crust at the top (I should have taken a photo of it! sorry) If you don’t do this (which I did not last year), sometimes the arms and legs can break off (due to the unevenness of the surface/base). I hope you understand my tip, let me know if you need help in detail.

 

This recipe is super easy, super fast and no mistake can happen! Trust me, I’ve done it more than a dozen times, and it always comes out right!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

