Frozen Tofu Steak

by KK

Tofu is one of basic ingredients for Japanese cooking.

There are two different types of tofu, the “Firm” tofu and the “Silky” tofu.They taste the same, except they have different texture, also it is used for different cooking.

 

 

I grew up with the silky tofu, and that’s what was in my miso soup as I grew up. I make Agedashi-tofu (Deep fried tofu) using the silky type and tofu steak too.

The firm tofu is used when I need to drain the water and use it as paste. My Shira-Ae (Tofu dressing), tofu muffins and tofu creams (for cakes) are made from firm tofu.

 

When you buy tofu, sometimes you might not use it all up. Once the package is opened, tofu does not last very long so here is a secret to save it from being wasted: freeze them!

 

Once frozen, tofu changes texture. The negative is it becomes a bit “tougher” but look at the positive side, once frozen and thawed tofu absorbs more sauce. Here is a recipe to use thawed tofu, and it’s simple and yummy.

Frozen Tofu Steak (to be served as an appetizer or as a main)

Ingredients

-120g Firm Tofu  (per person)

-5cm*10cm Kombu Kelp(per tofu)

-1/2 cup water

-2 teaspoon Black Sesame

-1/2 teaspoon Soy sauce

 

Method

Step 1.Freeze tofu overnight, defrost half frozen and cut 2cm thick.

Step 2.Place Konbu in pan and rest tofu on top. Cover Tofu with water, bring to boil. Lower heat, add soysauce. Cover with black sesame and cook until soup disappears.

 

So simple, yet you will see the different texture of the tofu and enjoy all the soup it has absorbed. If you are not vegan, you can even sprinkle some bonito flakes on top! Best eaten while it’s hot!

2 Comments to “Frozen Tofu Steak”

  1. I definitely love tofu. I never put it in the freezer though… I guess it is because it never lasts that long! I never had tofu go bad. Your recipe sounds good though, I will keep it in mind!

    • Next time, try buying 2 packs and freezing 1😀 I usually buy the large 750g pack, and freeze half or use 400g in my tofu cake recipes. Hope you try and enjoy them!

Leave a Reply

