If you are visiting Japan, you must stay here

by KK

Hi this is KK, Sushi Artist / Healthy Muffin Maker / Mum🙂

Thank you for visiting my blog.

I suppose most people who visit my blog  are interested in either cooking or Japan, because that is what I write about. I’ve been introducing recipes of what I cook at home, but if you are lucky enough to visit Japan some time in the near future, there is one place that I would really recommend you to go.

It is a B&D&B (Bed and Dinner and Breakfast) place in Kyushu, the southern island of Japan. There is a family called Nonaka-san, and they live in this fascinating old Japanese house, in the middle of nowhere (LOL). The husband is a farmer and a photographer, the wife is a cooking teacher, and I just love their food.

 

     

Keiko Karube has been cooking organic vegetarian food for years, and when you eat it, your body will yelp with joy! You will not believe she is only cooking with vegetables and traditional Japanese seasonings, because the taste of each dish is very rich in  flavor and texture. The love she puts in her cooking is recognized after the first bite.

“Cooking is subtraction, have belief in your ingredients and use your senses”

is what she taught me, and it is so true. (Her cooking book doesn’t have any measurements!)

I love her plates and cutlery as well, everything is so carefully chosen and is perfect match with what she cooked. It’s unfortunate that her cooking books are only available in Japanese, but just looking at it makes me happy because I know where the photos where taken (It’s more like a photo album, using their daily dishes and was photographed in their house!)

I met the Nonaka family about 5 years ago, and loved there place so much we kept in touch. Kyushu is far from Tokyo so I couldn’t visit them after my first stay, but I was fortunate to go again last year.

 

Their website is in Japanese only, but the photos are inspiring enough so please take a look.

Leave a Reply

