Yumi and her BBB muffin

by KK

Hi this is KK, Sushi Artist / Healthy Muffin Maker / Mum 🙂

Thank you for visiting my blog.

 

This is my lovely 20 months old daughter Yumi, with her favorite BBB muffin. It’s “Blueberry & Banana”, made with organic wholemeal flour and honey.

20120602-104515.jpg I still have the battle of what to use in my healthy muffin, between honey,maple syrup and raw sugar.

 

Most of the time, I use raw sugar, because it’s easy and gives me “stable” results. But today, I wanted to use some ripe bananas as the “base” sweetness for my muffin, I chose to use honey, and the result was delicious!

 

I’m not joking because Yumi ate 5 muffins (regular size!) in one day, it must have been tasty!

 

To make 12 regular size muffins, I used

-2 very ripe Bananas, mashed

-2 Free range Eggs, lightly beaten

-2 Tablespoon Honey

-60g Rice bran oil (you can use vegetable oil or olive oil)

-180ml Organic soy milk

-300g Wholemeal Organic plain flour

-1 Tablespoon Aluminium free Baking Powder

-30-50 Blueberries (I used frozen ones, and they are quite nice!)

Method

Step 1: Preheat the oven to 180C, Line your muffin tin with paper or grease them lightly with extra oil, Mix all the wet ingredients (banana, egg, honey, oil, soy milk) in one large bowl; Mix all the dry ingredients (flour and baking powder) in another large bowl

Step 2: Pour the mixed wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, mix lightly so there are no flour, pour int baking tin, push 3-5 blueberries into each muffin; Bake in oven for 15-20min, or until cooked (test with a skewer and it should come out clean when cooked)

Cool in tin for 5min before taking them out on a cake wrack to cool completely. I am not sure how long they last because at our house, it lasted only for 2 days!

 

I would love to add some chopped walnuts to this recipe, just put it into your dry ingredients bowl. Great snack to take around, just watch it as your little ones munch, because there face may get messy a bit! ENJOY!!

Leave a Reply

