Rolled Chinese cabbage

by KK

Hi this is KK, Sushi Artist / Healthy Muffin Maker / Mum🙂

Thank you for visiting my blog.

 

When I go shopping for veggies, there are somethings that I always buy, and somethings that I never  buy.

For example, I would buy things like:

-Eggplants, Zucchinis, Cabbage, Broccoli

-Tomatoes, Onions, Carrots, Potatoes

-Mushrooms, Shiitake mushrooms, Crown Daisies

These are somethings that I buy regularly and know how to cook them in different ways.

On the other hand, I rarely buy things like leeks, artichokes, silverbeet. They look quite interesting, so I hope to try them one day but I don’t pick them up.

 

Chinese cabbage is something that I buy, but have difficulty using it all up because it is so big! They take up a lot of space in the fridge, so I have to use them very quickly. When I make this menu, I can use about 8-10 leaves, and keeps you warm from the inside. You don’t have to roll them if you are in a rush, just layer the leaves and meat in the pan and cut it before you serve.

Rolled Chinese cabbage (served in the red bowl)

My 20 months old daughter can eat at least 1 roll, my husband would eat 4 or 5 rolls. I sometimes make mine without the meat, just putting thinly sliced carrots, shiitake mushroom and abura-age(fried bean curd) and rolling them up.

Ingredients (to make 9 rolls, which is how much I need to fill up my pot!)

-9 Chinese cabbage leaves, preferably the outer layer because it is bigger

-200-300g pork, thinly sliced (I buy this as an Asian butcher in Chatswood; can be substituted with bacon but in that case, add less salt in the soup)

-Ginger,about your thumb size, sliced

-1 teaspoon salt

-1 Tablespoon Soy sauce

 

Method

Step 1: In a large pot, boil some water with salt. Cook the chinese cabbage leaves so they become soft. (I usually use a steamer and steam my leaves, I think that way you can preserve more taste of the veggies)

Step 2: Place the leave on a cutting board and lightly “hit” the stem part of the leave so it would be easier to roll; Place 2-3 slices of meat per leaf, roll and place in the pot. Continue and line the pot with the rolls. It is better not to have too much space or else the rolls would move around as they cook. My pot can fit about 9, so check the size of your pot as you make it.

Step 3: Cover the rolls with water, add ginger, salt and soy sauce. Add small square of konbu if you have one. Cook on low heat for about 20min. Make sure you have plenty of water to cover the rolls, the soup can be enjoyed with the rolls when you serve.

 

This is a very easy “leave it on the stove” kind of a dish. The length of time you cook does not make a significant difference, just make sure there is enough liquid in the pan because it can be burnt… The ginger adds the warmth from the inside. One of my favorite winter dish!

2 Comments to “Rolled Chinese cabbage”

  1. I am going to make this – just wanted to check I don’t need to cook the meat first?

    • Thanks for trying Nina:-)
      The meat will get cooked with the veggies, I usually use the thin sliced meat(for Shabu-Shabu)

      You can use bacon if you can’t find thin sliced meat:-)
      Hope you and your family enjoy eating it!

Leave a Reply

