Japanese Earthen Mortar (Suri-bachi)

by KK

Hi this is KK, Sushi Artist / Healthy Muffin Maker / Mum🙂

Thank you for visiting my blog.


Today, I want to write about some tools I find useful when cooking Japanese food.

When we relocated to Sydney last year, I had gone through a tearful phase of choosing what to take and what to leave behind from my kitchen.

20120514-161943.jpg Unfortunately, space was limited, and I was only allowed to take 3 medium-size boxes of kitchen utensils. If you love to cook, of have the experience of moving, you know how difficult that is.

3 boxes!

That is like nothing!!

First went in the two Le Creuset, with my other earthen pots to cook soups and rice. Some special dishes and Japanese style lunch boxes went in next, and of course, one of my favorite,” Suri-bachi”!

This is an earthen mortar that I use to grind, mix, and serve things in.

It is made in Kyushu, and the style of pottery is called “Onta-yaki”. It is one of important intangible cultural heritage in Japan, and just looking at it makes me happy. A wedding gift from my friend in Japan, and I have treasured it and used it in so many different ways.

We use a lot of sesame in Japanese cooking, and although you can grind them in machines, it just tastes different when I use this mortar. The pestle is made from “Japanese pepper” tree, “Sansho”.  The Sansho Tree is known for its distinct aroma, and it also works to prevent food poisoning. Well, that’s what my grandmother used to teach me. She is originally from Kyushu, where this pottery was made, so she was please with the fact that I was cooking with these tools.

Tonight, I think I will be making some crown daisy in sesame dressing using this, and plate it up! Hope you enjoy the meal recipe too!

2 Trackbacks to “Japanese Earthen Mortar (Suri-bachi)”

Leave a Reply

