Healthy Zucchini Burger

by KK

Hi this is KK, Sushi Artist / Healthy Muffin Maker / Mum 🙂

Thank you for visiting my blog.

 

I have been cooking too many vegetarian dish, and it was about time to cook something “MEATY” for my husband. I checked what was in the fridge, and there was half a pack of chicken mince left in the freezer, so I decided to do some burgers, but in a healthy way.

 This burger is made from chicken mince, but more than half of it is made from veggies! (Yes, I weighed them to make sure that I get the ratio right)

It was nice and soft (that’s what my husband enjoyed), and good for my 19 month old daughter Yumi, who is starting to enjoy variety of foods.

 

You can make a bigger batch and freeze them after cooking it, or if you use a food processor, you can make it in less than 5min (+ cooking time) so it is a lifesaver dish when you are in a hurry and want to dish up something tasty and healthy for your family!

 

Ingredients (to make 7-8 small patties)

-180g Free Range Chicken Mince

-150g Onions (2 small size)

-120g Zucchini (1 medium size)

-1/3 cup Bread crumbs

-1 teaspoon Sage

-1 Tablespoon Soy sauce

-Olive oil for cooking

 

Method

Step 1: In a food processor, combine all the ingredients and mix for 30 seconds (If you don’t have a food processor, chop the onion and zucchini and mix all the ingredients in a large bowl); Form patties

 

Step 2: In a non-stick frying pan, heat a tiny bit of olive oil and cook the patties with the lid on over low heat, cook for 8min, turn over once and cook for additional 5-8min

 

The cooking time will vary depending on the size and thickness of the patty. When cooked, it should feel firm to the touch, and clear liquid will come out when you skew it with at skewer.

I served it with rice, but I am sure this will go well with burgers too! I hope you enjoy it!

 

One Trackback to “Healthy Zucchini Burger”

Leave a Reply

