Gluten Free Vegan Gnocchi

by KK

Hi this is KK, Sushi Artist / Healthy Muffin Maker / Mum🙂

Thank you for visiting my blog.

 

Although, I am Japanese, I love cooking foods from other countries. Chinese and Korean foods are quite common on our table, but the most popular cuisine that I cook (apart from Japanese) is Italian!! I used to have pasta machine at home in Tokyo, and had fun making my own pasta. Our honeymoon was to South Italy, and my husband Hide ate pizza and gelato everyday for 2 weeks and gained 3 kilos. I was 7 month pregnant at that time, and proud to say that I didn’t gain any wait!

This is how much we love Italian food, and I still make my own tomato sauce and never bought ready made pasta sauce.

 

Here is a simple recipe that is loved by everyone in my family, including my 19 month old baby Yumi, and you must try it.

 Once you made the gnocchi dough, you can eat it in many ways. It will keep in fridge for about 3 days, and some people say you can freeze it, but I usually finish it within 3 days, so am not quite sure how the texture would turn out.

 

I sometimes add mashed pumpkin or sweet potatoes to the basic recipe, and have it with my “soy cheese” sauce. It is a great alternative to carbonara, low in fat and calories, so you can enjoy your “pasta” without any guilt!

 

 

Ingredients (to make about 12-15 gnocchi pieces)

-1 large potato (about 250g)

-50-80g Potato starch

-1 pinch Salt

 

Step 1 : Peel the potato skin, cut into 8 pieces and steam for about 20min, until soft. (You can boil it with the skin on, then peel it or cook it in the microwave  as well. I just prefer steaming my vegetables, so that they will have maximum taste to it)

Step 2: Mash or mix in food processor until smooth, add salt and potato starch. Form into small ball (about 20cent coin big and finger thick) and cook in boiling water for 3-5min. It will swell up and become about 50cent coin size.

Serve immediately with your favorite sauce. Today, I cooked tomato sauce with kidney bean burgers, looks like meatball!? It was sooooo good, I enjoyed my organic wine very much with it. I hope you enjoy it too!

 

 

Leave a Reply

