Steamed Banana Muffin_No sugar, No butter, No egg, No oil!

by KK

Hi this is KK, Sushi Artist / Healthy Muffin Maker / Mum 🙂

Thank you for visiting my blog.

My daughter Yumi loves muffins soooo much, I bake about twice a week to keep up with her appetite. I usually bake mini muffins, so it’s quicker to bake (12min in the oven) and easier for her to eat.

As I was trying to think what I can do with 1kg of flour, I decided to do something different. Instead of baking a muffin, I tried steaming it, like my mum used to do at home. Unlike kitchens in Australia, many Japanese mums do not own an oven. Well, these days we have microwaves that work like an oven, but it’s much smaller than the ones here. In our house, we didn’t even have a microwave until I was 12 or so, fortunately, we had a gas oven, but it was seldom used. So when we wanted a quick filling snack, mum used to make steamed buns! I have a lot of recipes for this, but can’t always find the ingredients in Sydney, so today I will start with the basic.

 So easy to make, the only problem here is you need a steamer, but that can be solved by using a large pot and a bowl plus a plate. You just simply put a bowl upside down in a large pot, pour water around the bowl (about 3/4 of the depth of the bowl) put a large plate on top, put your muffins and cook with the lid on! Better to wrap the lid with a kitchen towel, so you don’t have water dripping on your muffins.

Be careful not to burn your self because steam can be quite hot when you are handling them. Apart from that, this is easy, quick and fun to make with kids.

I used silicon muffin cases for this, you can use ceramic or metal, just remember to grease  it with butter or oil before you pour the batter. I repeat, be careful when handling this because the tin gets quite hot too!!

Ingredients (to make 6 regular size muffins)

-220g Organic wholemeaf flour
-1 medium to large size ripe banana

-1 cup Organic soy milk (or regular milk)
-2 teaspoon Aluminium free baking powder

Method

Step 1: Mix all ingredients in a large bowl and beat until smooth

Step 2 : Pour into muffin cases/tins, place in steamer and cook for 10 to 15 min, Check with a skewer (if it comes clean, its cooked)

I though my muffin was quite healthy, but this is healthier because it has no oil in it. Still, nice and moist thanks to the banana and the steaming method. Hmmmm, maybe I should have this for my snack!

3 Responses to “Steamed Banana Muffin_No sugar, No butter, No egg, No oil!”

  1. Hiya very cool web site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds also?I’m happy to search out numerous helpful info here within the publish, we’d like develop more techniques on this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

