What to do with 1kg of Flour

by KK

Hi this is KK, Sushi Artist / Healthy Muffin Maker / Mum 🙂

Thank you for visiting my blog.

As a mum of a very hungry baby (Yumi turned 18 months and eats more than her 3 year old cousin!), it is important for me to have healthy and easy snacks handy to keep my baby happy. She grew up with my home made snacks, and I think I bake about twice a week.

    

These photos were taken before she was 1, and you can see her enthusiasm to eat 🙂

I buy organic flour, which is about $4 a kg, so it is a bit expensive than regular flour, but when I think of the amount that Yumi eats, it is very worth the cost.

With 1kg of flour, I tried making different things to show you the variety. There are always muffins to bake ( I bake more than 1000 mini muffins a year!)

 This is Pumpkin muffin with nutmeg, using my basic healthy muffin recipe. I like this recipe because it has a lot of vegetable in it, and no sugar! You can add the sweetness with maple syrup or fruit preserves (also home made)

 Another one of my favorite is Biscotti! The trick to cooking this is baking it twice! I make it with my daughter (she loves to mix!) and this is good because you don’t have to worry too much about being over beaten. A great take out snack, keeps Yumi quiet until she finishes 1 stick!

 This scone is made with yeast, and needs to spend a night in the freezer, but can be stocked in the freezer for about 2 weeks, so usually, I make a batch and keep it there to have fresh oven baked scone whenever I feel like! A great recipe to use up THAT veggie too 🙂

 I don’t bake cookies as much as other things, but this no egg, no butter, no sugar recipe was too good not to share! A bit crumbly so I won’t recommend it giving to kids like Yumi who wants to run around while they eat! This cookie taught her manners, always sit when you eat!

 This looks like my Healthy mini muffins, but they are 3 times bigger and NOT BAKED!! Instead, it is steamed, and takes less than 20 min to prepare and cook! A very good snack or even a breakfast, just be careful with the steam!

Each of these recipes use 200 to 250g of flour, and they are all easy and tasty, so why not give them a try with your kids? I can’t wait to do more baking with my daughter 🙂

One Trackback to “What to do with 1kg of Flour”

Leave a Reply

