Basic Fish Dish:Bonito

by KK

Hi this is KK, Sushi Artist / Healthy Muffin Maker / Mum🙂

Thank you for visiting my blog.

One of the ingredients I miss most from Japan is “Fish”. Yes, there are salmons and sea breams at most supermarkets, and there are fish markets to visit, but I grew up with “Sashimi-Fresh” fish, I miss them a lot.

The fish I buy here looks fresh, but I haven’t had them raw unless it was named “Sashimi”. Even then, it is different to the fish at home, so I thought I should try something different with it, just as tasty, just as nice.

I came across some fresh Bonito at the fish store. It was 5.99/kg, not bad for a fish so bought it as a whole and sliced it up myself! Surprised? I can open up  and slice a fish,not a very pretty sight, but necessary to have a yummy food on the table.

In Japan, we usually eat bonito grilled on the outside but raw in the inside, with lots of garlic and ginger and shallots.

 

It is sold like this, ready to eat, but my grandfather used to buy a large bonito and grill it himself. You need a pretty big sized fish and a gas grill to make it, but this is a treat of early summer,  when bonito comes into season in Japan.

Using the concept of garlic and ginger, I marinated the fish and grilled it on a frying pan.

 

This is a basic way to cook fish, so choose your favorite fillet and try it!

Ingredients (for 2 fish lovers)

-1 bonito skinned, boned and cut into fillets (or 300-400g fish fillet)

-2 Tablespoon Soy Sauce

-2 Tablespoon Sake (cooking rice wine)

-1 clove Garlic, grated

-1 thumb sized Ginger, grated

-Cornflour

-Cooking oil (I used sesame oil but vegetable oil is good too)

-2 Tomatoes

-Coriander to garnish

Step 1:Mix soy sauce, sake, garlic and ginger and marinate fish fillets for 10-15min

Step 2: Remove fish onto a paper towel, dry slightly, cover with cornflour and cook on a frying pan with a little bit of oil, cook on both sides; remove fish and add sliced tomato and left over marinating sauce and cook until the sauce thickens

Done! Easy🙂 ?

Serve on a plate with coriander or shallots to garnish. This technique can be used in other fish as well. The thinner the fish slice, less time you need to marinate, and if you have more fish than the marinating sauce, just “flip” the fillets so everything will be coated with the sauce.

I hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

