Something Purple?

by KK

Hi this is KK, Sushi Artist / Healthy Muffin Maker / Mum🙂

Thank you for visiting my blog.

When cooking a meal, I have been taught by my mother to

“Keep your table colorful”

This means that I should have a good balance of Green/Red/Yellow/Brown on my plate. Green and Red are usually vegetables that provides vitamins for your body. Yellow are the traditional Japanese dried foods, like beans and dried daikon radish,  which are rich in minerals and fiber. Brown are meat, fish or tofu that provides proteins.

By keeping the table colorful, you will be able to eat what is necessary for your body and be happy by looking at pretty foods! This is why I try to cook 3-4 dishes every meal, using some “Jobi-Sai(foods that will keep in the fridge for few days,and can be enjoyed in many meals)” and sauces, this is quite easy!

One of the colors we didn’t eat much in Japan was Purple. OK, so we do have purple cabbage and purple onion so they became a salad from time to time, but it wasn’t very common.

The other day, I found something interesting in the market, and it became into this dish!

 

The vegetable I bought was “Purpler Carrot”!! Steamed with other vegetables, it stained it nice into a nice color, and gave me heaps of ideas to do other things with it. As a starter, enjoy it as is, it is sweet and tasty🙂

Ingredients for 2

-1/2 Purple Carrot

-4 Mushrooms

-1 Eggplant (the thin type)

To make,

Step 1:Slice all the vegetable into your finger thickness

Step 2:In a heavy pot (thicker the pot, the better) lay your mushrooms first, then the onions, eggplants and finally the purple carrot. The order is kind of important because some vegetables give more water than others. Sprinkle everything with a touch of salt, add 2 Tablespoon water and cover with lid. Cook on low heat for 10min.

This is it! The steam and salt brings out the lovely sweetness from the vegetable, and you can eat it as is, or with a dash of soy sauce or lemon. The important thing is DO NOT ADD TOO MUCH WATER!! As you cook, water will come out of the vegetables and it will cook in its own sauce.

You should stay close to the stove while you cook, especially in the last 3 min, because although my pot is trustworthy enough that it doesn’t burn, if yours is not very thick, tragedy does happen😦

Too simple? Then try it! I hope you like the new color and taste on your plate!

2 Comments to “Something Purple?”

  1. Hello, i believe that i noticed you visited my weblog so i got here to return the desire?.I’m trying to find issues to improve my web site!I suppose its good enough to use some of your ideas!!

    • Thanks for visiting! I hope I can share some ideas, it’s mostly Japanese/Vegetarian🙂 Quick things to put on table when you are in a rush!

Leave a Reply

