Takenoko-Gohan (Flavoured Rice with Bamboo Shoots)

by KK

Hi this is KK, Sushi Artist, Healthy Muffin Maker, Mum 🙂

Thank you for visiting my blog.

Finally, I had time to cook the bamboo shoot I bought at the market! 

Well, actually, on the day I bought it, I cooked it in baking soda to get rid of the bitterness, and seasoned it in Dashi(Japanese broth) and put it in freezer. Now, the time was right so I finally made my flavored rice: TAKENOKO GOHAN.

The result?

 

YUM! FANTASTIC!!

Worth all the effort. Yes, it is a hard work to make this, especially preparing the bamboo shoot in the beginning. But well worth it. This was proven by my family, my husband ate 2 bowl fulls and even Yumi, my 18 months daughter ate this for her night time snack! After eating 2 sushi rolls and 1 egg for dinner, she ate half a bowl of my rice 🙂 She goes

“Gohan (which means rice)”

and opens her mouth to be fed. Cute, but mummy was worried about the size of her tummy!

Anyway, I am not sure if I will make this again, because I can’t find the ingredient at a local supermarket to start off with, but will leave the recipe for you to all imagine 🙂

My bamboo shoot was about 700g when I peeled the skin, so I made 2 batches of stock.

Ingredients(1 stock; please keep this as the basic ratio and change it according to the size of the bamboo shoot)

-200g Bamboo shoot, precooked (*)

-700ml Dashi stock (**)

-3-4 Tablespoon Soy sauce

-1 pinch salt

-1 Tablespoon Mirin

-2 Tablespoon Sake (cooking rice wine)

-3 Japanese cups Rice (540g)

How to make it!

Step 1: Bring everything EXCEPT RICE and bring to boil, cook for 10min: wash rice in water drain and soak in clean water for at least 30min.

Step 2: Cool the bamboo shoot& liquid until completely cold (You can now separate them into smaller proportion if you are cooking more than 1 batch; and freeze!)

Step 3: Drain rice and put in a rice cooker/large sauce pan; drain and separate bamboo from soup, place on top of rice; measure 540cc from the remaining soup and add to rice; rest for 1 hour.

Step 4: Cover, cook on high heat for 8min, low heat for 12min (or press start on your rice cooker)

It is time consuming, but not difficult as it seems. You just need a long time to prepare it, so I did it on 2 different days, made 2 batches and kept them in the freeze until it was ready to be cooked.

(*) To precook  bamboo shoot, remove all the hard skin, this will decrease the size to about 2/3 , unfortunately you can’t eat the outside skin. It’s too tough. In a large pot, bring water to boil, add 2 Tablespoon baking soda and cook the bamboo for 1-2 hours until they are soft and tender, drain, cover in cold water and rest overnight.

The water I cooked the bamboo shoot turned red, you don’t have to change the water, this is to remove all the bitterness.

(**) Dashi is a Japanese broth made from dried konbu(kelp) and dried bonito flakes. If you want to make this vegan, you only need konbu kelp.

I am not sure if I can suggest ENJOY as usual, but it is worth trying if you found a bamboo shoot in the market. I know our family will be enjoying this for a while.

By the way, this does not last long in room temperature, so if there are leftovers freeze them again so you can enjoy it later!

Leave a Reply

