Chickpea Tofu

by KK

Hi this is KK, Sushi Artisit / Healthy Muffin Maker / Mum 🙂

Thank you for visiting my blog.

I stopped eating meat about 6 years ago, about the time when I started cooking organics. Now, I do eat meat when it is served, and I do cook meat for my husband, but I prefer to eat vegetables and beans. In that sense, I am not a strict vegan nor vegetarian, but someone who loves to eat veggies and is on a search for a nice veggie dish.

This is something different, but I find it really nice to eat on a hot summer day.

It is tofu made from chickpeas!!

 

Unlike the tofus sold at stores, this is silky and soft, so I recommend serving it in a bowl with some sauce. Actually you can eat this with soy sauce or with maple syrup!

Trust me they are both nice in its own way.

Making it is not difficult, just a bit messy, but if you try in and like it, I think you will repeat making it like me!!

 

Ingredients (makes about 6 regular muffin tin)

-1 cup Chickpea; soaked in 3 cup water overnight

-2 cup Water

-1 pinch salt

To cook

Step 1: Drain the chickpea and mix in food processor on medium to high speed for 45-60sec

Step 2: Add water and salt, mix again for  another 60sec, or until it becomes smooth.

Step 3: Squeeze the mixture over cloth into a sauce pan (THIS IS THE MESSY PART!!), do it in 5-6 batches; cook on medium heat, stirring continuously

Step 4: Pour into container and cool, when cold enough to put in fridge, let it set

You will have about 2 cups of chickpea leftover, DO NOT throw them out!

It is full of fiber, and has good use to it, I will introduce what you can do with it in the next blog.

 

Messy, yet tasty, this can be made a day ahead of serving, so I recommend not to make it on the day of a special event. Prepare early, and earn those smiles from your loved ones!

ENJOY 🙂 !

 

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “Chickpea Tofu”

  1. Hi, when you say Squeeze the mixture over cloth into a sauce pan (THIS IS THE MESSY PART!!), do it in 5-6 batches; cook on medium heat, stirring continuously – do you mean squeeze all of the smooth watery part through a cheese cloth and cook that? I love the fact you have managed to make a tofu without soy! I can’t wait to try it!

    • Hi Tali, Thanks for your comment.
      Yes, I mean squeeze all the liquid through the cheese cloth. It’s best to do it in small batches, and don’t throw away the residues, because you can use them in other recipes too! I hope you enjoy making it!!

      • Thank you! Also, what kind of consistency should it have once you have cooked it and put it in the fridge?

      • It does get thick, when you draw a line with a spatula, it will remain for a few seconds.

        Keep the heat medium-high until you see bubbles form, then lower it. Keep stirring all the time so it doesn’t burn.

        You can make it firmer by decreasing the amount of water you add (instead of 2cups, try 1 and 1/2 cups)

        Hope you succeed!

  2. How long does it last in the fridge?

    Thank you for the wonderful recipe! 🙂

    • Hi Karen, sorry for my late reply!

      I usually eat it in 1-2 days, so I am not sure but because it does not have preservatives, I don’t think it will last very long. 3 days at the max, I think.

      Hope you enjoy cooking it!
      KK

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

