Omusubi Rice Balls

by KK

Hi this is KK, Sushi Artist/ Healthy Muffin Maker / Mum🙂

Thank you for visiting my blog.

 

When you have small children (well, mine is only a baby) and is going out, you need to carry food so that they don’t get unhappy from hunger. I usually take a piece of fruit and muffins to keep my baby happy, but here is another option: Rice balls!

 

Rice balls are called “Onigiri” or “Omusubi” in Japan, and it means “Tying together”. The name comes from the way you prepare it, by cooking rice, seasoning it, and shaping it into a ball by holding your hands together.

It is easier done then explaining it, and very handy once you know the trick!

 

I made three different flavors today!

To the left is using my Handy Salmon Flakes,  the back is using miso from Dengaku, and the right one is using Takuan (pickled daikon) and sesame.

 

In Japan, people usually put things like Umeboshi (pickled plum) or Konbu (seasoned kelp) in their rice balls. When you go to a 24hour store in Japan, you will see so many varieties of  rice balls being sold, some with things like tuna and Kara-age Chicken inside!

 

The shape varies from family to family. My mum’s side makes it triangle, but my dad’s side makes it round. You can change the size to match the people who’s going to eat it. Yumi (my daughter) can eat one full rice ball, but I do tend to make small ones for her so she can hold it and feed herself.

 

The key is making the rice to the right stickiness. Japanese rice are the middle grain rice (the sticky type) and be sure to match the amount of water with the amount of rice.

1 cup of rice should be cooked in 1 cup of water.

Many people nowadays have electric rice cookers, but I don’t! I cook my rice in a thick pan over stove. It’s very quick and I find it very tasty.

 

Hope you can find your favorite combination of seasonings!

 

 

 

2 Trackbacks to “Omusubi Rice Balls”

Leave a Reply

