30 min Dinner : Chicken Kara-age and Baked Eggplant

by KK

Hi this is KK, Sushi Artisit / Healthy Muffin Maker / Mum 🙂

Thank you for visiting my blog.

 

This is another 30min dinner, using the left over chicken meat from the Basic Chicken Stock. I made Japanese style pan fried chicken and baked eggplant. It was a surprise that my 17 month daugher LOVED this baked eggplant, I gave it to her with some organic pasta and she just ate everything and ate so much, it made me happy 🙂

This night, we went to meet our sister who just had a baby, so I prepared the baked eggplant before we left, marinated the chicken and off we went! Coming back, it had to be quick, so while heating the eggplant, I fried the chicken, chopped vegetables and here we go, it was done!

20120224-053331.jpg 

I made this Kara-age with corn flour, and although my husband said it was the best tasting chicken ever, I think I prefer it with potato starch. So, I will try this dish once again before introducing it!

 

The baked eggplant was another “using up all your vegetable dish”.

Ingredients (for 2 people, the photo is for 1)

– 1 Eggplant (I wanted to put the cooked sauce in the eggplant itself, so I used the big round eggplant. You can make this in an oven proof bake dish, if so, you can use any type og eggplant, large or small!)

-1 Medium Onion

-5-8 Mushrooms

-2-3 Tomatoes

-1-2 cloves Garlic

-1 teaspoon oregano

-1/2 cup Basic Chicken Stock

To cook:

Step 1: Cut all the vegetables (I usually cut as I cook, because vegetables like onions and garlic needs longer cooking time. Rather than waiting, I cut and cook as I go), cook on a frying pan with a little bit of oil and oregano

Cook the vegetables in this order: Garlic-Onion-Mushroom-Tomato-Eggplant

 

Step 2: Add stock , cover with lid and cook until it thickens.

 

You can cook until this part, and put the sauce somewhere cool to rest.

Before serving,

 

Step 3: Pour sauce into baking dish, spread some breadcrumbs or cheese and cook on 180 C oven for 8-10min, until the top gets golden.

 

Enjoy 🙂

 

NOTE:You can add meat or tofu to this sauce and serve as a main dish. It is really tasty and as I mentioned, this makes a great pasta sauce too! It went really well with the Shell shaped pasta that Yumi loves 🙂

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “30 min Dinner : Chicken Kara-age and Baked Eggplant”

  1. You have mentioned very interesting details! ps nice website.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

