Making Basic Chicken Stock

by KK

Hi this is KK, Sushi Artist / Healthy Muffin Maker / Mum 🙂

Thank you for visiting my blog.

 

Cooking is about love and patience, someone told me, and even though I never thought myself as a very patient person , I do put love in the meals I cook.

This Basic Chicken Stock is something I started to make when I moved to Sydney. Yes, you can buy soup stocks from the shelf, but I wanted to make something that I knew what was inside, and I also wanted to use celery leaves! What a funny reason to start 🙂

 

 

20120223-060450.jpg 

Ingredients for Basic Chicken Stock

-2 BONES from Free range or Organic Chicken Drumstick

(As you can see, I have separated the meat from the bone. This meat will turn into a different dish tomorrow! )

-5 Mushrooms

-2 medium size Onions

-1 small Carrot

-1/4 Bunch of Celery leaves (when I buy celery, I cut off the leaves and freeze it! )

-1 Bay leaf

-Salt, Pepper and Soy sauce to taste

 

Step 1: Cut all the ingredients and put in a large stove pan

Step 2: Cover the ingredients with water, make sure everything is soaked under the water plus 1-2cm extra.

Step 3: Cook on low heat until the water has halved in volume.

The amount of the vegetable varies in the amount of bones I have. This will make about 2-3 times worth of strong and tasty chicken stock. By using this in the cooking, it makes things taste really good! I usually save these stock in the fridge using milk cartons!

Just cut the bottom of the milk carton into 5-8cm height, pour in the stock, cover it with wrap and put it in the fridge. I tried using jars but it takes longer to thaw, and with milk cartons, it is much easier to push it out of the container when you are in a rush 🙂

 

Hope you enjoy this handy recipe too!

3 Responses to “Making Basic Chicken Stock”

  1. I like this site because so much utile material on here : D.

  2. This blog is really cool. How did you make it .

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

