Gimbab (Korean style rolled rice)

by KK

Hi this is KK, Sushi Artisit/ Healthy Muffin Maker/ Mum 🙂

Thank you for visiting my blog.

 

Weekday lunch is time to use up some of the leftovers hanging around in the fridge! On Saturday, we had Somen Noodle, and I had some dipping sauce left over from that.  Using that sauce, I cooked my leftover minced meat to give it a sweet and soy saucy taste. To utilize this Japanese flavored meat, I decided to make a roll, today in a Korean style.

 

Gimbab (which means seaweed and rice in Korean) is a roll similar to sushi roll, but the rice is seasoned with sesameoil and salt. Also, instead of using fresh fish, it often includes meat.

Today, I used meat, cucumbers, carrots, takuan (pickled daikon radish), avocado and cooked egg. I even used the leftover brown rice to make it really healthy.

 

 

20120220-133224.jpg 

To make Gimbab you need:

1 Whole sheet Seaweed (You can use the flavored Korean type, if you prefer. I used the regular one)

200g cooked rice

2 teaspoon Sesame oil

Salt and sesame seeds to season

For the inside, you can use basically anything in the fridge. I recommend putting in takuan, which is the pickled daikon radish. I know it’s not a very common food in Aussie households, we don’t have it often ourselves, but I made Gimbab because there were leftover takuan, and I wanted to enjoy it in a special way!

When you prepare the vegetables, be sure to cut it into thin strips. Some people recommend to cook the vegetables first and season it with sesame oil and salt. I omitted this process, and it still tasted fine.

If you don’t have the cooked meat, nor crab sticks, using tuna or the handy salmon flakes adds extra flavor!

 

To make,

Step 1: Season the rice with sesame oil, salt and sesame seeds.

Step 2: Spread rice evenly on seaweed, leaving 2 cm clear at the top, place ingredients in the center and roll! Cut into 6-8 pieces and enjoy 🙂

 

It is different to Japanese sushi rolls, the rice has no vinegar taste, but since most of the ingredients are pre-seasoned, you don’t need soy sauce to eat it. A nice change and I enjoyed it very much!

 

Leave a Reply

