Wholemeal Banana Muffin

by KK

Hi this is KK, Sushi Artist/ Healthy Muffin Maker/ Mum🙂

Thank you for visiting my blog.

It’s Friday already, and my house is running out of muffins! Time to make a new batch before our weekend outings.  The timing was good because my bananas were getting really ripe, and I mean REALLY ripe, that it was almost black! Did you know that when a banana turns black, that’s the best time to use it in cakes? It’s really soft to mash and sweet too! So sweet that you don’t have to add any sugar. Well, at least not in my kitchen.

Today, I made it with wholemeal flour. It doesn’t rise as much as plain flour, but has that extra fiber that is filling and good for me and my daughter🙂

20120217-142136.jpg

Wholemeal Banana Muffin (makes 24 mini muffins or 12 regular muffins)

2 very ripe Bananas

1 Tablespoon Olive Oil

200cc (a bit less than 1 cup) water

220g (2 cups) Wholemeal flour

1-2 Tablespoon Aluminium free baking powder

Step 1: Mix all the dry ingredients in a big bowl. You don’t have to shift wholemeal flour, just mix the BP through it using a spatula.

Step 2: Mix all the wet ingredients (bananas, olive oil, water) in a big bowl. Grease or line your muffin tins and turn the oven on to 180 C.

Step 3: Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, mix lightly and spoon them into tins. Bake for 15 min for mini muffins or 20-25 min for regular muffins. It should look golden brown at the top and feel firm when you press it. You can skew it with a toothpick and make sure that nothing sticks to it. Cool for 5 min and take it out of the tin.

My daughter loves this so much, she already ate 3 as soon as I put it on the plate to take a photo for this blog. She was climbing on my coffee table to grab it, and when I turned away, she was holding one in each hand, with one in her mouth! I hope your bubs enjoy it as much as mine!

Have a nice weekend :-)!!

2 Comments to “Wholemeal Banana Muffin”

  1. Easton Photography
    I was in search of this one other day. i dont typically publish in forums but i wanted to say thanks! pa photographers

  2. my Facebook Blog Thanks on your marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you can be a great author.I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and definitely will come back down the road. I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great job my Facebook Blog, have a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

