Gyoza (Pan fried dumplings)

by KK

 

Hi this is KK, Sushi Artist/ Healthy Muffin Maker/ Mum 🙂

Thank you for visiting my blog.

 

The recipe I am sharing today is Gyoza (Pan fried dumplings)

The photo is of our dinner for the night, with brown rice, miso-soup and tofu potato salad.

20120213-180412.jpg

I admit that Gyoza is not a Japanese food, however it is a very popular dish in Japan. So popular that we would have it at least once a month, or even more!

I remember as a child, I used to help my mum prepare it for the family. We used to make about 100 of them (we were a family of 4, but I think my brother ate about 30 and so did my dad…)! I used to be proud in helping my mother wrap it in the skin. Although I could never be as fast or as neat as my mother, she would praise and encourage me to make it. I hope I can do the same with my daughter some day 🙂

Here’s how to make this yummy dish (it’s fun to do it as a family)

Ingredients (makes about 45-50 dumplings)

300g Cabbage, chopped into small squares (you can use food processor)

1 bunch (=130g) Garlic chives (Sold at Asian grocery stores)

300g minced pork

1 Tablespoon Soysauce

1 Tablespoon Sesame oil

1 teaspoon salt

2 Tablespoon Garlic (about 3 large cloves), grated

1 Tablespoon Ginger, grated

1-2 packets dumpling skin (Sold at Asian grocery stores; my Chinese friend taught me how to make it so I would like to share that recipe one day too!)

 

 

Step 1: Chop the cabbage and garlic chive into small squares. This is the most time consuming part, and you can make your life easy by using a food processor. I did it all by hand, and it looks like this.

Step 2: Using your hand, mix them well with meat and all the seasonings.

 Yes, it is a gooey process, but I think your kids will love it 🙂

Step 3: Take a tablespoonful and wrap it in the skin. This is where you can be creative! Make sure that it is sealed properly so the fillings don’t come out.

Step 4: Heat a saucepan, grease it well with oil. Put in gyoza pieces and pour water (1/4 cup not included in ingredients), put on lid and cook for 4-5 min. Check occasionally to see if the skin becomes semi-transparent. Pour 1 tablespoon of sesame oil (extra, not included in ingredients) and cook on high heat for 1 min. Serve and eat with soysauce and vinegar!

 

The most difficult part of this is frying it! Use a non-stick frying pan with a lid. If it is too difficult, you can cook this as soup, very yummy as well. I think I need more practice in making these myself, and hope to share some tips as I make errors!

 

 

 

4 Comments to “Gyoza (Pan fried dumplings)”

  1. I am planning on making these over the next couple of weeks 🙂

  2. I finally got around to making these and they were delicious……I made about 2/3 of this quantity and it made 30 dumplings.

    • Thank you ninasnosh for trying! Did you manage to seal it?
      Next time, I’ll try to ask someone to take a photo of me preparing it, so you can see the process. It’s a bit hard to do everything on my own…

Leave a Reply

