Handy Salmon Flakes

by KK

Hi this is KK, Sushi Artist/ Healthy Muffin Maker/ Mum:-)
Thank you for visiting my blog.

 

Today, I would like to introduce how to make Salmon Flakes.

It is so easy to make, and handy to use, I have it in the fridge (and freezer) all the time.

 

20120206-082315.jpg

Ingredients

-1 can of salmon (415g), Red salmon does look better, but I use Pink salmon can, which is half the price 🙂 Just make sure you buy MSC (Certified Sustainable Seafood) cans to be friendly to the environment! Select Wild Caught Pink Salmon at Woolworth is what I use, it is only 2.99 a can when it’s on sale, so I try to keep stock of it!

-1 Tablespoon Organic raw sugar

-1 teaspoon Soy sauce

-1 teaspoon Mirin

 

How to make it is sooooo easy.

Step 1: Drain the water from can, remove skin and bones. In Japan, salmon bones are sold as “Salmon Bones” in a can, and it is a delicacy! You can leave them in, but because I feed this to my 16 months old baby, I try to remove the bones, especially the big ones. They don’t get thrown out, I just nibble them as I cook 🙂

Step 2: Cook salmon on low heat and break the fish into small flakes, using a spatula. When the fish looks dry (about 8min), add the seasoning and stir.

Done! Sooooo easy! It has quite a strong flavor to it, so I just mix it with rice and make a simple roll sushi, this is a lunch for my daughter! She can eat this on her own!

20120206-132429.jpg

You can mix this with veggie or with pasta, use it as if you are using a canned tuna.

I usually freeze half of it, if keeping it in the fridge, make sure to use it in about a week! Enjoy!!

Tags: , ,

2 Trackbacks to “Handy Salmon Flakes”

Leave a Reply

