Apricot Almond Muffin

by KK

Hi, this is KK, Sushi Artist/Healthy Muffin Maker/Mum🙂

Thank you for visiting my blog.

It’s February already! How time flies!

So far,in year 2012,  I have baked 7 batches of mini-muffins and 1 batch of regular muffins, which means 140 mini-muffins and 10 regular muffins, different flavor each time. It’s quite amazing for a family of three (and one being just a baby), we consume so many muffins!

Well, most of it is eaten by my daughter, Yumi🙂

My muffins are healthy for 3 reasons:

1.No white sugar

2.No butter

3.Lots of fiber

I bake these healthy muffins because my daughter Yumi, who is 16 months old loves to eat muffins, and I wanted to make it as good as it can be for her. The ingredients are as organic as I can find it to be, and they are baked fresh twice every week.

Muffins are good because you can carry them around and it can be eaten very easily. Whenever Yumi gets hungry, I give her these muffins so she doesn’t get grumpy! It is much economical than buying a roll of bread (which I used to do in case of an emergency), and you can make it sweet or savory.

This muffin, Apricot Almond Muffin is one of Yumi’s favorites.

All my healthy muffins  are made in a similar style, just changing what you want to mix inside. The basic recipe is

-220g Organic flour (wholemeal, if possible)

-1t Aluminum-free baking powder

-1 Egg (70g)

-150ml Water (or Milk or Orange juice, depending on what you are going to make)

-20g organic raw sugar or Maple syrup or Honey

-20g Olive oil

To make apricot almond muffin, just add 40g of chopped dry apricot and 20g almond slice.

I mix all the dry ingredient in one big bowl, all the wet ingredients in one medium size bowl, beat the dry ingredients so they mix well, and fold it into the dry ingredients.

Put it into mini-muffin pan that has been greased lightly (you can use paper liners which make the cleaning a lot easier, however, I like it when the muffin bottom gets crispy and Yumi can eat on her own without the paper so our house is paperless!) and bake at 180 C for 12-15min.

When you are using regular size muffin pans, bake for 20-25 min.

The temperature and baking time varies depending on your oven, so always try shorter and check if it is cooked by putting in a toothpick. If it comes out smooth, its done! Let it stand for 5min and take the muffins out on cake cooler (or a large plate) to cool completely.

At first, this muffin may seem too un-sweet for you, but instead) of adding sugar, add dry fruits (smaller chopped, the better) . I use a cooking scale when I measure the wet ingredients, and it is quite surprising how little 20g sugar is. In other words, there are just tooooo much sugar (white sugar) in most cake recipes, so I can not give it to my baby.

This recipe has been made by me and tested by my daughter, and  as the number proves, is our all time favorite. Hope you enjoy it too!

Leave a Reply

